Our very first Q&A session with fashion blog South Molton St Style

After showing a generous interest in The In Thing via Twitter, we were suprised and very happy that South Molton St Style blog (a sister site for us to look up to!) agreed to take part in a Q&A session for us.

With a pretty magazine style layout, SMSS emits fashionable flair. Posts are based on current trends, fab finds, and profiles on the shops, designers and style icons everyone should watch out for. This is a blog to look our for, the content is unique and very helpful with accessing style on a budget too, which we here at The In Thing are all about!

So here goes…

What’s your name, age and daily occupation?
 
My name is Anna, I’m 26, and I work for a London Media recruitment company – recruit advertising people into consumer magazines

How long have you been a fashion blogger?
 
3 months, I’m a newbie!  I decided after seeing how friends like Natalie at Canned Fashion and Geneva at A Pair and A Spare got so much fun out of blogging, I’d join in! 
 
What is the name of your blog and how did you think of it?
 
South Molton St Style – thought of it as I walk down South Molton Street in Mayfair every morning and always spot beautiful girls dressed amazingly… and also it’s the name of my staple nail polish by Nails Inc (something I think every girl should have).

 

Nail Inc South Molton Street Polish

 
Have you had any previous blogs? What were they called/what was there theme?
 
Nope – total newbie!
 
Describe South Molton St Style in a couple of words.
 
It’s for a busy girl who likes fashion, and just needs somewhere to go to see how to replicate catwalk trends – also what the trends are, and who they should know about…
 
How do you find content for your posts, fashion news, bargain items etc?
 
Reading and shopping!  
 
Who’s your favourite fashion designer and why?
 
I love the traditionalists – people who make pieces you can keep forever – Calvin Klein, Farhi, Celine, Burberry.  I’m not a fan of paying a fortune for something that will be socially unacceptable next season!
 
Have you been disappointed with any designers this season?
 
Not really, other than Galliano’s Paris bar performance.  It’s just lovely to see we’ve got some colour back, really lifts everyone’s mood and is so reflective of how positive people are compared to a year ago – when we were all worried about the recession…
 
Have you attended any fashion shows, if so what were they like?
 
Never any of the big ones – but I’ve been to a few private viewings.  They can be a bit snooty and I was very worried about what to wear.  But in general the people are really nice, and once you have broken the ice everyone is just like you…
 
What is your favourite piece of clothing that you own and why? 
 
I have a few – my Burberry trench, my Reiss ankle boots, my Zara trousers and my Pretty Ballerina pumps (I have 8, oops).  Also my handbags – I’ve spent all my bonuses on my little collection…
 
Where do you usually shop for your clothes?
 
All high street really – other than the odd designer staple.  My favourites are the same as most: Reiss, Zara, Whistles and H&M.  I also have a secret obsession with Marks and Spencer’s – their Limited Collection stuff is amazing for work-to-play stuff.
 
What is your favourite high-street shop currently and why?
 
Hmmm – all of the above.  Can I say Selfridges?!  It houses everything a girl needs (on pay day).
 
What’s your favourite trend that you’ll be wearing this season?
 
Brights and tuxedo jackets – love them both
 
Designer or high street?
High Street, 110%

Thank you SMSS! 

You can check out South Molton St Style’s blog at www.southmoltonststyle.blogspot.com/

Follow and like them too at:
Facebook : www.facebook.com/pages/South-Molton-St-Style/16717943334519
Twitter : @SMS_Style

Comments
3 Responses to “Our very first Q&A session with fashion blog South Molton St Style”
  1. janine says:

    I also use the South Molton st nail inc polish, great name for a blog. This Q&A was really interesting, i’ll be checking out both your blogs everyday now.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] to what may have contributed to the blog (and its hits!)  Here was the turn out and my full post from the […]



Leave a comment

  • Blog Stats

    • 8,638 hits